Shocking Pink – Nars Schiap & Nars Priscilla

Shocking pink lippies have been spotted on various Korean stars and they are quite commonly used to create ombre lips. No, I am not into Korean drama/pop stars.. but I thought my stash should see some bright colours.

(fun fact: I don’t really like to watch tv and I do not like chasing after pop stars that sort. When I was 11 and supposed to do an assignment on my idol which involved cutting out a picture of him/her, I vaguely recalled that this idol should be some celebrity. I almost handed in a picture of a hamster because I was so frustrated but changed it last minute to Fann Wong. On hindsight, I should have left it as a picture of a hamster and told the teacher that the assignment was silly. Yeap, strange child I was)

Image

Okay! Let’s go on proper. I have Nars Schiap here and Nars Priscilla here. Schiap is a semi-matte formula and has a little shine compared to a true matte lipstick. Priscilla is a gloss but with more pigmentation. I swatched, re-swatched again and again and hereby confirm that Schiap, Priscilla and Yu (Nars Satin Pencil) are essentially the same colour but with different formulas. Do bear in mind that the colour slightly emphasizes yellow teeth, not the best colour to hide yellow teeth!

Image

Schiap is not a colour or formula that is easy to work with. I have dry lips and used my usual method of applying lip balm first and blotting it before application. However, I found that the application is still uneven and the lipstick hangs on tightly to dry spots and flaky parts of my lips. Not flattering and difficult to blend. Fed up, I went to use a lip scrub. Application after using the lip scrub was a lot better and the colour applied a lot more evenly. It generally feels comfortable on my lips. This is one colour and formula I will use if I am wearing a black dress and want a pop of colour. Schiap leaves a stain behind, so after a light meal, you can still detect a little colour on your lips. While I was swatching it, it was tenacious and difficult to remove!

Do you need Schiap? For the colour, yes. For the formula, no. You would be better off with Yu, if you don’t mind forking out extra money for the sharpener. Annoys me to have to sharpen my makeup items.

I love glosses. Priscilla is definitely my favourite. If I do not want such a bold lip, I spread the applicator gently over my lips for a wash of colour. Otherwise, I can apply another layer and create a stronger lip colour. I do not find it sticky and it performs as I expect a good gloss to. No detectable scent, easy to use, fuss free – plenty of win for me!

Image

Priscilla, Schiap. Sorry, no lip swatches. For the life of me, I am very clumsy with the camera and could not get a proper good lip shot. So you will have to make do with seeing my hands more often 🙂

 

 


One comment


Leave a comment