MAC x Pedro Lourenco and Alluring Aquatic Haul

IMG_0763

Even though I have given away my naked 3 palette to a lovely young lady who will cherish it much better than me, my heart aches for something nude to fill the gap. I jumped at the opportunity when Tangs Orchard did an early release of the Mac x Pedro Lourenco collection. The nude eyeshadow palette is to die for! The packaging is matte rubber, similar to that of Nars and mirrors Pedro Lourenco’s minimalistic style. Simple and functional.

IMG_0774

From Cafe Makeup , I learnt that the shimmer shades are permanent while the matte shades are limited edition. The shade names are: Pink Sands, All that Glitters, Sable and Rose Cloud (lightest colour first, clockwise direction)

IMG_0778

Swatches! Sable, All that Glitters, Rose Cloud and Pink Sands. The swatch at the right most corner is Lorelei which I will be showing you later. The palette is a great combination of nudes with hints of rose gold. If you have been afraid of pink eyes or looking swollen, this is the palette you should be getting! Pink cloud does give me a little pink eye situation but the brown tones in the other shades balances it off. Definitely foolproof and good for someone looking for a basic palette that you can take from office to night. The texture is soft and easily blendable, making it really easy to use.

At the same time, I also purchased the Extra Dimension eyeshadow single in Lorelei. Oh my, can you just gush at the packaging? Metallic teal packaging with faux water droplets! Altogether now, say WOW! I am really hardly swayed by MAC and it has been astounding how I caved into so many items at once!

IMG_0767

IMG_0775

 

Let me digress a little. I purchased Lorelei mainly for its name. I was in Germany, St Goar about 5 years ago. Strolling down the beautiful Rhine river with an ice cream in hand and then bf (now ex) in tow. One of the land tours brought us to the rocky area that was named Lorelei. It was folklore that a pretty maiden named Lore Lay was betrayed by her sweet heart and climbed up this dangerous rock where she fell to her death. It is said that she still bewitches the sailors to go closer to this dangerous rocky area where they met their death as well.

Folklore aside, it is a very gorgeous area where I thoroughly enjoyed myself and I still recall the white wine tasting sessions in cold cellar! Had my first taste of ice wine there, definitely nothing like what you get in Singapore supermarkets. (drinking ice wine before it was hip yo!). I would love to share the wonderful pictures but my hard disk crashed and I had no way of getting the photos back again. There was DVD as well but I cannot remember where it is or perhaps it is one of those that is already corrupted due to time. Ah.. memories, only residing deep in my thoughts.

Ok ok, let’s go back to makeup!

IMG_0779

This is Lorelei and All the Glitters swatched side by side. Can’t tell the difference? It’s okay, neither can I! The one on the left is Lorelei, it is a little more brown in real life and the finish is a tad more metallic.I know Lorelei is very popular, so if you are not able to get your hands on it, All that Glitters is a very good dupe! What do I do with 2 similar shade? I don’t really know.. just enjoy them!

I picked up the blush in Sea Me Hear Me as well. It is a natural berry-red toned blush that is perfect for a soft flush.

IMG_0783 IMG_0784

 

Heavy swatch and blended out.

I would advise you to be a little light handed and build up as you go. It is a very lovely blush but it can result in you looking a bit bruised and muddy if not careful. I hunted a few places before I managed to get my hands on this blush. Regret? Perhaps. I love the colour but the extra time needed to blend it and ensure it is not muddy is a little irksome in the morning. Perhaps I’ll try a different brush and see how things go with it. I want to love it alot more, I really do but I am finding it difficult.

Anyway, I appreciate your attention to the end of post! Apologies for my absence, have been really sick with food poisoning and severe infection. I have almost fully recovered and am very thankful to stop throwing up all my food. You have no idea how torturing it is to be hungry, wanting to eat but yet knowing eating will result in you throwing up the very next minute. Hydrate plenty my lovelies!

 

 


2 comments


Leave a comment